English Across the Curriculum

Discover Australia


  • 1770

    James Cook explores the eastern coast of Australia and names it New South Wales

  • 1778

    Great Britain makes New South Wales a colony for prisoners.

  • 1851

    Gold is discovered in New South Wales and Victoria

  • 1901

    Australia becomes an independent country with Melbourne as its capital.

  • 1927

    Canberra becomes Australia's new capital.

  • 1967

    The Australian government passes laws to help the Aborigines and starts giving them back their land.

  • 1999

    Australia's population votes to stay a monarchy. Elisabeth II remains the Head of State.

  • 2000

    Sydney is host to the 2000 Summer Olympics.